Party

I don't usually go to parties, mainly because I am an introvert, and it takes a long time before I know someone well enough to be comfortable in social settings. It is much better when there is someone I know and trust, like a good old friend, to ease the anxiety.

My absence at parties proves to be a fairly large disadvantage, especially in cultures where parties are the main occasions to meet new people and make connections. It is also a negative spiral, since parties lead to parties, and if you do not show up, you do not get invited the next time.

The Internet cannot replace the functions of parties, but I believe there are advantages. I myself prefer a more passive form of meeting new people, that is: come across someone on the Internet, do some research on the person, and decide to connect or not.

Like me, the Internet identity can really deviate from the person behind the screen. This, after all, maybe just what I wanted: to be someone I am not.


Back to top