Name

There are two hard things in computer science: cache invalidation, naming things, and off-by-one errors.

Names are magical entities. No matter in fictions, in religions, in politics or in marketing, the specific language used to refer to someone or something is very important, if not the only important attribute. With creative languages, the reality can be twisted and manipulated. Even more so given the power of modern day media.

What happens if we are able to choose the name by which we are addressed? When pseudonyms become the norm, will it affect how we are treated, or how we treat each others?

I am sure in the “takes a different name every once in a while” camp. Whatever the influence is, I don't feel the need to stick with a particular way to be addressed, not that I am socially active at all. (Of course, legal names are near impossible to change, and so are friends.) The reason is again me living in my fantasized world.

I feel wonderful, even near ecstasy, if someone addresses me in the way I prefer. I cannot help but feel shameful of this, as I was taught not to lie, and it feels somehow similar. I know that there is nothing wrong with it. I keep telling myself, until this day.

I kept telling myself.


Back to top