Internet

After so many years of lurking on the Internet, something finally clicked.

I have always been a listener, an audience that has no voice. Internet in the post Web 2.0 era (that term had fallen out of use long time ago) is a mesh topology with bidirectional edges. Not only does it technically works as one (it always has been), but also its user demography uses it like one.

Internet services are no longer endpoints serving web pages. They are hubs for full duplex communication between users. Just like a server without client is useless, a service without interaction between users is doomed, both in the economical and in the social sense.

As interested in information technology as I am, I have never really thought about the big picture, until now. I don't know what I will be doing ten years later (or if I am still alive, but that is for another time), but I am sure this chemical reaction between IT and society will continue to evolve then, and I will be a part of it, regardless of my opinion anyway.

I have a long way to go, to grasp this social aspect of technology and to step into the crowd. I am thrilled.