Encouragement

A small encouragement was all I needed. Not “just do it” or “you really should be working on this”, but rather “let's focus for the next 30 minutes, then enjoy the doughnut”. And I worked for more than an hour, after which I ate the most delicious doughnut I've ever eaten and enjoyed a heart-warming call with my loved ones. As easy as that sounds, it took me two whole months to really start working again.

Now the sun is shining, birds singing, and I never felt this good, even though I'm still months behind schedule. In the past months I had persuaded myself that the rests I took, the meals I ate and the games I played are all for my mental wellbeing. I had been taking good care of myself and I would resume work as soon as I am in good shape. It turns out that working, no matter how small a chunk it may be, is better for the mind than running away, denying and procrastinating.

So here I am. No promises, no big plans or tight schedules. Just staying on the workbench for half an hour before having a fika or a nice meal, or working on an illustration, or some mindless YouTube surfing. The magic is simple once it starts working, and wonder unfolds.

P.S. I cannot connect to the Internet now. If this is going to be the norm then I should consider hosting my server somewhere else.