Confirmation

It is common nowadays to look for reviews online before purchase, for better understanding of the product in order to make the decision. Video reviews give a more hands-on impression on the product, and in-depth technical reports are really helpful beyond the data sheets provided by sellers. Third party reviews often have more influence on consumers than conventional advertisement, and in fields such as the game industry it has become standard practice to outright pay the reviewers (or giving out free copies) as a part of the marketing campaign.

What I have found myself doing though, is looking for reviews on the products that I have already purchased. It seems illogical, since I have already made the decision, and there is no point in doing this (except perhaps looking for alternatives in comparison reviews). However I don't think that I am the only one indulging myself in said post-purchase review searching.

I believe that the reason of this is for a confirmation, that I have made the right choice, namely a smart purchase of something that is high-quality and useful. The affirmation is satisfying and also a little addictive, just like shopping itself. This mindset is somewhat related to buyer's remorse in my opinion, and I don't think this is really a big deal. However, from a logical point of view, this is purely a waste of time, especially when I am already happy with my purchase.

Perhaps this is akin to going shopping with friends and sharing the experiences and results. Except that the friend is non-existent, substituted with one-way communication paid with stealth marketing budgets.