Separate Worlds

I was once bothered by the fact that novels do not strike the same feelings in different people, as I have slowly discovered.

With illustrations or light novels, the visual aspects of the fictional worlds may be captured, but readers will always have their own interpretation of the sound, the color, the smell and the overall atmosphere in a story.

What a faulty medium, I thought, if the intent of the creator cannot be transferred accurately. Is the written languages at fault, or is there an inherent limit of our ability to communicate abstract or concrete ideas, even by the best writers?

I later realized that what I am looking at has nothing to do with any media or creation. The cause of my problem is that we all live in our own worlds, and one's senses only give meaning to themself.

Feelings, as good novels try to convey, further complicates the situation. Our perceptions are critically affected by our opinions and emotions toward the subject, so we are bound to receive different messages due to our vastly different taste and experiences.

I find it hard to accept this, as I cannot suspend my belief in solipsism and enjoy having company. There must be something that is contradicting in my belief web, but I am yet to find the tangled fibers.