Carrot on a Stick

I need a carrot on a stick to keep going. For me a gadget or a piece of fine stationary works best.

I realized that lately I have been forcing myself to work, by searching for a new reward: a purchase that can motivate me. This act is quite irrational, and I do not think I will pick up good working habits by constantly bribing myself.

Using material rewards as motivation, I am more likely to get myself something I do not really need. Sometimes the reward is simply a bad purchase, not to mention buyer's remorse.

I also got used to buying whatever I want at the moment. Impulsive purchases happen to me quite often, and I really regret them.

In the long run, I suspect that my impulsive trait hinders my productivity. Using those purchases as motivation created a vicious cycle: I promise myself a purchase for motivation, the purchase feeds my impulsiveness, which lowers motivation and induces procrastination.

As I face larger projects that cannot be managed within short-term schedules, I will need to deal with this weakness eventually.