Doll Themed Work

I sometimes find myself having a resentment towards specific doll themed works, such as fiction featuring (animated) dolls as main characters.

Most of the average featured dolls merely act as a novelty, and only serve to provide a prototype character or personality for consumption (like black people in minstrel shows). Sometimes dolls are used as a shock factor to create horror, piggybacking on the uncanny valley.

When I see these kind of exposures on dolls, I worry about the negative impact they have on the craft. But personally I also tend to think that the creators do not “understand” dolls and doll owners.

In fact, even people involved in creating or owning dolls do not share the same perspective on the genre. We all have different attitudes towards dolls, and that is fine. What follows is that the public can also have different opinions as we do, thus my resentment should be dismissed.

The real reason of my turmoil is simply that I am still in search of doll fictions that resonate with my thoughts. I'd better create my own.