Socialized Hobby

There are some hobbies that are hard to get into. Sometimes the initial monetary investments are significant, sometimes guidance from insiders is needed. For team activities, suitable groups are hard to find.

As for me, I think the social aspect is the most difficult to attain. I consider dolls as my favorite hobby, but I have not been able to participate in a community after several years, other than passively reading forums, blog posts and browsing through social network groups.

I certainly want to have someone to share my passion with. But dolls are unlike other hobbies, and just playing around with them indoors makes up the most part of it. It is kind of awkward to socialize with other doll owners with dolls around.

These are all bad excuses though, and I am just afraid to meet new people and make contact. I want to challenge myself to make a new friend at the next doll fair or event I go to, starting by perhaps chatting with people in line waiting for entrance, or stand owners.