Bit Flip Learning

Through the course of learning in my life, I noticed a pattern of me overriding previous beliefs with contradicting statements.

First I learned that everyone should be treated equally. Then I was told that people are heterogeneous, and should be treated in different ways. Later I learned that equality is achieved by treating people differently, in a way.

The beliefs are like latches flipping back and forth, each time connected to more and more complicated circuits that contain other latches.

The most important thing to learn is perhaps to throw away previous beliefs like dirt and never stop thinking critically. But to achieve things we have to stop doubting, that means believing in something.

Beliefs are the basis of our values and perceptions. Without them, what makes us human – curiosity – will never be fulfilled. This is one of the reasons that I consider the human nature self-contradicting.