Violent Dreams

Sometimes I see dreams so violent, that I am truly terrified when I wake up. I cannot bear horror movies, but my dreams are worse than those.

My brain seems to come up with brutal scenes that are synthesized using fragments of my memories, which makes them even more terrifying, as during the dream I cannot tell apart reality.

Although nightmares sometimes have benefits to me (for example, reminding me of something), I cannot help wondering what is causing the extremely horrible scenes to appear in them.

Another curious aspect of my violent dreams is that I take on several different roles in them. In some dreams I am the victim, in some others I am the attacker, and in others I become a witness or a spectator.

Perhaps they are to remind me of the reality by shock, as I am losing track of the outer world.