Resource Management

It is somewhat ironic that although I am mostly a disorganized person, I enjoy managing the resources and dealing with logistics in a game.

Unlike real life, games are much more predictable, and the complexity never exceeds that of reality. Playing a game makes me feel that I have all things under my control, and it is gratifying to see a well managed system develop and nourish.

When it comes to making decisions, there is no real hard consequences in a game when the player chooses an inferior path. Worst case scenario is the game ends and starts over again. The willing suspension of belief is the basis of all games, otherwise it would not be a game anymore.

The real-life scenario is much harder to enjoy, with more unstable factors and physical inertia. Those who can keep organized lifestyles must weight the joy of being in control over the efforts needed to maintain them.