Car Accident Dream

A recurring theme in my nightmares is car accidents with me behind the wheel. Sometimes the brake doesn't work no matter how hard I step on it. Sometimes I simply run down people or crash into other vehicles.

These dreams occur to me before I learned how to drive, and persisted even when I used to drive routinely to another city. They are very realistic, and I have interacted with the police in multiple dreams, as well as calling the ambulance and thinking about insurance.

I never had a car accident in real life, and I do not think that this is dream precognition for future events. (I sure hope not!) These dreams however reinforce my fear for driving, even I am sufficiently capable at it.

I do not seek meaning for my dreams, only experience them. They form a large part of me, just like real events. If terrible things happen in dreams, at least I can shrug it off next morning.