Romantic Relationship

I never understood romantic relationships. Apart from biological sexual drive or the emotional need for company, I do not see the reason in having (often exclusive) partner(s) of the attracting sex. The former stems from social values in the culture, and the latter is fulfilled by family and friends.

If the goal is marriage, and the relationship is the transitional state between friendship and family membership, then it makes more sense to me. But it confuses me when the notion of love is introduced, as it often is. (This word “love” is very ambiguous and overloaded in the English language, and I hope this occurrence does not need clarification.)

Love as I perceive is a combination of sexual arousal and pathological reliance, and that is close to the most elaborate description that I can think of. Either I am so very ignorant, or the notation of love is indeed lacking in my dictionary.

I am not sure if this is yet another defective personality of mine, or a mental disease. If this is caused by my background, I have nothing to complain as I appreciate every bit of my past that contributes to the present I.

I do feel a bit missing out. However vague a concept it is, absolutely everyone seems to be fascinated by and attracted to it. Countless people give or take lives for it, and we celebrate them in literatures and fictions, while faulting them in real life. None of these makes much sense to me, but the passion in them implies that there is a very positive feedback associated with the act of pursuing or having a partner, in the romantic sense.

If one day I were to have such a partner, I would definitely need to do a write up and record all the feelings that come with it. The notion of love is that advanced a topic for me.