Scaled Buy List

I made a list of things I want, and plotted the prices on a bar graph for comparison. As my interests are mostly in gadgets and dolls, the order of magnitude on the prices is quite comparable, and it is easier to gauge cost utility when items are graphed this way.

For plotting I tried using gnuplot, but could not get it to work within my budget of patience. Lua with LÖVE did the trick. The fact that I can quickly translate my thoughts into code with it is the reason I love Lua so much.

When I was younger, I used to judge prices by using equivalent number of meals I can get with the amount of money. It is a very tangible measure for me, although utility of items is usually not very comparable to food.

I feel that I should also list the items I own now, and plot the prices I paid for them. This way I can have a better prediction on whether the money will be well spent, before the actual purchase. It will probably also serve as a reminder on how much I have spent on my interests.