Information Addiction

I suspect that my spending countless hours on Wikipedia is not due to pure curiosity, but addiction. Being used to receiving enormous amount of data constantly, I trained my brain to process information all the time.

It becomes an addiction, as I constantly have the urge to search for knowledge that I can learn. For every thought that I encounter, I start up the web browser and find articles to read about it, as eagerly as a heavy smoker reaching for the pack of cigarette and lighter.

I cannot bear that something is not answered. I refresh the forum page every now and then to check for updates. I search for tags on all major SNS for the latest information. Even in bed I cannot fall asleep, since I have to read what ever comes to me in the smartphone screen.

I have become an information addict.