Constructed Language

Constructed language, or conlang, is not an unfamiliar topic to me. I like The Lord of the Rings trilogy, and happen to enjoy music with lyrics deviating wildly from conventional language usages.

I believe that a language is a symbol of culture. Technical jargons show practicality for the informed. Memes augment the language, to the point that sub-dialects start forming within a language demography, especially in the age of Internet and multimedia.

Creating a language, whether in the strict sense or not, is a goal towards forming my paracosm, and the result could have the potential to survive me. The lexicon, translations, learning materials and other documentations should be published and kept updated.

I have the idea of creating a language based on Japanese, with more words from Chinese and European languages. It should be easy to use with a typical English keyboard, and expressive enough to translate Japanese erotic visual novels, typical API documentations and newspapers.

I am not sure if such conlang is possible, but in the process of creating it I will probably have to keep a diary in the language, for dogfooding. Another problem is determining the verbal practicality for the language when there is no native speaker.

The final goal is gaining users, especially from different cultures. I would like to see native speakers of Japanese, Chinese, German and English pick up the language, at which point I will mark it as a success.